Hades

I was writing a post defending Roark’s demolition of Cortlandt (ref. The Fountainhead) from what Oliva at the Mises blog called the “Roark Doctrine” and wanted to clarify a small matter relating to contracts and how it affects third parties. In doing so, I stumbled over some very heated arguments on “intellectual property” on the blog. For example, this and this. A comment from the second post, this one, is priceless-

OK. What about your rights under your property (underground)? According to Rothbard, you have no such rights. He states: “If my neighbor drills for oil in his back yard and finds an untapped pool that extends under my land, I have no claim to the oil, so long as his drilling doesn’t disrupt my use of my property. If I tap into that same oil deposit, I am violating his property. But I can drill down into non-contiguous deposits next to his and they become my property even if they extend beneath his land.”

This is the argument that Saddam Hussein used when he invaded Kuwait….

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

