Dilli Che

Numerologists and their mumbo-jumbo might have made Dilli 6 into Delhi 6, but I am still calling it Dilli Che; it sounds better this way. Well, over the last week or so, I have been listening to three songs from the album – Masakali, Arziyan and Dil Gira Dafatan – day in and day out – and I simply can’t get the first and third tracks out of my mind. Sublime is the word, though I suspect that Masakali will wear out over time and Dafatan is the one that will linger on.

Its been a while since AR Rahman has come up with music this good. Consider all his non-Tamil releases since late 2007 – Jodhaa Akbar, Ada, Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na, Yuvvraaj, Ghajini and Slumdog Millionaire (the Indian edition of the OST is missing nearly five tracks – M.I.A.’a Paper Planes for one). Dilli Che comes up tops for me, and its not because that’s what I have been listening to all this while; the music really is special. Jodhaa Akbar and Ghajini share the second spot; Ada and JTYJN – third, and Slumdog and Yuvvraaj – fourth. The audio cd weighs a ton, and the reason behind that is this – the front cover is a thick mirror.

Since Dilli Che has been monopolizing my time, I haven’t been able to listen to Dev.D, though I know people are going crazy over Emosanal Attyachar. Amit Trivedi is the composer and Amitabh Bhattacharya the song writer. This is not Trivedi’s first film soundtrack. That honor goes to Aamir, and if you haven’t heard its soundtrack, you should – its good. Trivedi has also composed the music for a few tracks of Abhijeet Sawant’s 2007 album – Junoon.

Another interesting album that I will take up in some days is Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi. Its a Shantanu Moitra-Swanand Kirkire collaboration and has some great tracks including the title track (sung by Shubha Mudgal; written by Ghalib), Bavra Mann (this one was used by Airtel in its advert starring Abhay Deol and Raima Sen) and the qawwali – Mann Ye Bavra. The film is just as good as its soundtrack.

Update: I assumed both Aamir and Dev.D had lyrics written by Amitabh Verma; not the case.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

