Bastiat Prize

I wrote four months back that Swaminathan Aiyar is among the nominees for The Frederic Bastiat Prize for Journalism. He didn’t win, but came second. About the Bastiat Prize-

IPN’s Bastiat Prize for Journalism was inspired by the 19th-century French philosopher and journalist Frédéric Bastiat.

The prize was developed to encourage and reward writers whose published works promote the institutions of a free society: limited government, rule of law brokered by an independent judiciary, protection of private property, free markets, free speech, and sound science.

Indians who have won it in the past include Sauvik Chakraverti and Amit Varma, and you can read the articles of all the finalists since the prize’s inception in 2002 – here. The links to Sauvik’s articles are broken thanks to Economic Times’ bad content management system. But they are available here.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s